A Comfort Post: Hallow’s Eve Shrimp and Grits

Yesterday I had a craving all day for Shrimp and Grits.  So, I left work, went to the supermarket, bought the ingredients and made this.  This is a happy recipe unlike my post from yesterday The Gap Between Two Frames which prompted many of you to panic and ask me, WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?  My answer to you all: sometimes I write a little fiction and yesterday, after all, was Halloween.  I am not anymore twisted or crazy than I was before, I was having a little Hallow’s eve fun.  After two bowls of this recipe, it helped that I had to get up from the sofa about 50 times (cardio at its best) to answer the door to all of the ‘cute’  children in their costumes.  I love Halloween!

 

Shrimp and Grits

1 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

1 cup scallions, thinly sliced

1 garlic clove, minced

1/8 cup of Lemon Juice

1 tablespoon Cajun Seasoning (to taste so if you don’t like spice, reduce this amount)

8 Slices of Bacon

1 Cup Stone-ground grits (slow cooking, not instant)

4-5 Cups of Water

2 Tablespoons Butter

1 Cup Half and Half

2 Cups Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese

4-6 Drops of Hot Sauce

Salt and pepper, to taste.

Directions:

Bring water to a rolling boil.  Add grits.  Stir and lower heat to LO, cover, cook for about 25-30 minutes stirring occasionally.  Meanwhile, season shrimp with salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning.  Set aside until grits are done.

In a saute pan, cook bacon until all fat is rendered and bacon is very crispy.  Remove from pan, cool and chop into bacon bits.  Leave bacon fat in pan.

When grits are done (should be thick and creamy), remove from heat and add the half and half, cheddar cheese, butter and hot sauce.  Mix thoroughly and leave grits on the stove. 

Bring saute pan to medium heat (enough to get the bacon fat smoking), add shrimp, lemon juice, garlic, scallions and bacon bits.  Cook for about 3 minutes until shrimp is pink.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Plating:

Spoon grits into a medium bowl (about 1 1/2 cups), top with Shrimp Mix (about six shrimp).  Eat.  Clean Bowl.  Repeat.

This is comfort, soul food at its best and again, since many of you thought I was deranged yesterday with my brief tale of suicide and murder, I wanted to give you something to make yourselves feel better.  Try this recipe, you will love it!

Leave a Reply

