For Yvonne: Those Eyes of Yours

I wrote this in 2009 for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. I have never taken a music lesson in my life but this was the first time I wrote a piece of music, arranged it and recorded it with six different instruments. This is my original composition with lyrics in both English and Spanish. It sounds a bit like elevator music but I’m very proud of the use of the instruments, the transitions and the words. It is easy to draw inspiration from someone like Yvonne because after you strip away all of the mundane noise of daily life, what is left before me is one of the finest, human beings I’ve ever met. I don’t often (truly) forget how blessed I am, but when I do I find solace in her eyes. Hence, the song.

Play Those Eyes of Yours Here:

If you click on the arrow next to the speaker, you should hear the MP3 version of this song. The instruments you hear are a grand piano, an accoustic piano, string guitar, flute, harp and synthetic strings.

Those Eyes of Yours

Verse:

There’s a memory tucked away

It goes back years

As I travel back thru time

Answering why I’m here

Recalling each shared moment

Each spared pain

Cured by the healing touch

Of your love

It’s been enough

To hold me and console me

Through each waking hour since…

Verse:

One brief moment changed my path

One look took flight

Paving roads for this one life

Telling why I am

Saved just by stolen glances

Sigh sublime

Breath of belief and time

A voice

Of truth divine

Around me and within me

Shed the light of love on…

Chorus

(Those eyes of yours, those eyes of yours, those eyes of yours…)

Those eyes of yours

Guide me in a ways I’ve never known

Those eyes of yours

Giving my heart its might

A beacon in my nights

Your vision lends decision to my days

Sole focus on

True happiness

Haunting, inviting

Look that seeks my own

Those eyes of yours

My home

Verse:

Trusted years pass swiftly by

Our love endures

As each line born on my face

Fine tunes who I am

Defining precious glances

Make me whole

Lulled by the gentle glow

Of your grace

It is enough

To strengthen and renew me

As I search for them again

Chorus

(Those eyes of yours, those eyes of yours, those eyes of yours…)

Those eyes of yours

Guide me in a ways I’ve never known

Those eyes of yours

Giving my heart its might

A beacon in my nights

Your vision lends decision to my days

Sole focus on

Our happiness

Thrilling, so willing

Warm look that seeks my own

Those eyes of yours

My home

These eyes, my home

These eyes, my home

Es Tu Mirar

Verso:

Un recuerdo del ayer

Vive en mi

Un pasado recorrido

Define lo que soy

Cada instante recordado

Sin dolor

Cura que da tu amor

Al sentir

Es todo y mas

Consuelo en mi desvelo

Un abrazo desde que…

Verso:

Un momento me cambio

Nacio el yo

Que camina en esta vida

Nuestro amor crecio

Me salvan tus suspiros

Tu mirar

Verdad divina hoy

Tu voz

Con emocion

Hablandole a mi alma

Alumbrando nuestro amor…

Coro:

(Es tu mirar, es tu mirar, es tu mirar)

Es tu mirar

Que guia todo mi sentir

Haciendo hoy

Mi corazon latir

La luz de mi dolor

Prestando decision a mi vivir

Y para mi

Felicidad

Mirada, calmada

Busco siempre yo

Es tu mirar

Mi hogar

Verso:

Tiempo pasa sin cesar

Amor sin fin

El reflejo de los años

Pinta mi perfil

Miradas definidas

Mi valor

Gracia que vive en ti

Para mi

Son todo y mas

Mis sueños son tus ojos

Y los busco al despertar

Coro:

(Es tu mirar, es tu mirar, es tu mirar)

Es tu mirar

Que guia todo mi sentir

Haciendo hoy

Mi corazon latir

La luz de mi dolor

Prestando decision a mi vivir

Y para mi

Felicidad

Mirada, calmada

Busco siempre yo

Es tu mirar

Mi hogar

Tu mirar, mi hogar

Tu mirar, mi hogar

2 thoughts on “For Yvonne: Those Eyes of Yours

Leave a Reply

