Christmas Classifieds

Christmas has become too much like work: impossible deadlines, too much volume and not enough time.

As a result I don’t have any Christmas spirit, not in a bah-humbug sort of way but rather in a December is midway done and I still don’t have my Christmas tree up.  At this rate, I don’t think it’s going to be up this year.   

I love images of Santa and the North Pole and I have a crawl space full of bins containing ornaments and decorations going back twenty plus years, but everything is still put away.

I have three artificial Christmas trees in the garage begging to be decorated but time is not cooperating.

I’ve been to the Christmas Show of all Christmas shows and 100 Santas, numerous pairs of kicking legs and an endless medley of musical cheer has not gotten me in the Holiday mood.  

I watched Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is Coming to Town and It’s A Wonderful Life and the nostalgia was not enlivened in me.  Imagine not being moved by Frosty saying Happy Birthday when he came to life, or ignoring Jessica (the future Mrs. Claus) singing a love song to Kris in the middle of the square and especially not being overwrought with emotion watching George Bailey pontificating at the top of his lungs, “Merry Christmas Bedford Falls!  Simply said, I’m just not feeling it – and when I do feel it, I’m too tired to enjoy it. 

Tomorrow is my office party and I’m partially excited because at least it is Friday – more excited about the weekend than the festivities.  

What is wrong with me?  I love Christmas and I love the Holidays.  I love spending time with family, friends and all the other people you have to endure during these jolly times; I love cooking and making treats for people visiting my home, but there has not been one trip to the grocery store or one invitation sent this year.  I haven’t even started buying supplies to make my homemade Cinnamon Rolls or Everything Cookies. 

I’m going to another party on Saturday and I’m looking forward to drinking a few Dirty Martinis but if Santa or the Reindeer or even Mrs. Claus don’t show up, I won’t be sad. I need a break.  I’ve been seeing them in stores and everywhere since July!

I guess I should apologize for feeling this way to the hundreds who are running around, shopping, singing Christmas Carols and feeling all of the cheer, but maybe I can just smile and pretend and no one will notice.  

To add insult to injury, my Catholic upbringing is also making me feel like all of the animals in the stable are going to revolt and turn on me for not celebrating the birth of the baby Jesus.  The story of the Nativity is beautiful and it evokes wonderful childhood memories for me (in fact I have about three different Nativity sets in the crawl space bins I mentioned before), but not this year.  

As I said before, Christmas has become too much work and (thank God!) I already have a job.  Besides, if Christmas is work, how will we ever recognize Christmas vacation?  And, furthermore, if I had wanted a second job, I would have applied for it myself and it certainly would not have been at the North Pole.

I need an angel to bring me great tidings of joy instead of another job. It’s not Bah-humbug, but it’s getting awfully close.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Classifieds

  1. Hey Juan, Here’s a suggestion….Have a dirty martini with blue cheese olives, put on Christmas music (Rat Pack, Dean Martin or Frank preferred) througout the house and start pulling out those bins and boxes full of Christmas…..dat’ldoit!

    Merry Christmas!

    Warm regards,

    Jote

  2. Just catching up on all your posts tonight and I am so entertained by them. Thanks so much for sharing. I did see that you got to the store for the fixins for the famous cinnamon rolls.

Leave a Reply

