Wii Revisited

20120108-204822.jpg

Last time I played with my Nintendo Wii I was thirty pounds lighter. According to the machine, that was 812 days ago.

These stats made me think how much weight I could have lost had I not stayed away from it for two years plus.

But rather than cry over what could have been, I started focusing on the future of my relationship with a silly video console that at one point helped me with my weight loss goals.

As part of our 2012 resolutions, Yvonne and I have focused on organizing our household and part of this project includes reconnecting the Wii and rescuing it from the world of obscurity.

Last week we did some boxing drills, some bag work and sparring with the trainer. Two days later my shoulders hurt, my knees were sensitive from the squats I had done during sparring and my back was sensitive from its reintroduction to movement.

This new form of mobility was different than my daily time on my treadmill because it was working every part of my body. The treadmill, while a great cardio workout, did not stress my joints and extremities the way the Wii was challenging me.

Sunday I was on skis, I played with a hula-hoop and I did some serious kickboxing. While all of this was virtual and the Mii on the screen was not me, I started to hear the silent voices of my body saying thank you, thank you, thank you! My heart was racing, I was sweating, my muscles were cramping and I was fighting the imaginary stress monster that materializes on Sunday nights before work. I was in Heaven.

Tomorrow, I expect to be in pain and the day after tomorrow I expect to be in even more pain.

In a strange way, I’ve never been happier in my life.

2 thoughts on “Wii Revisited

  1. That’s great Juan! We have the Wii Zumba workout and it works and it’s a lot of fun. Sometimes, when I can’t get to the gym, that is what I do. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

