Insomnia

20120310-025859.jpg

It’s really late and I can’t sleep. Or rather, it is quite early in the morning and I can’t sleep. I fell asleep watching tv in the living room only to be faced with insomnia at 2:30 in the morning. Funny thing, all is well in my world. Had a great Friday at work, some peaceful down time when I got home and a good healthy dinner of whole wheat pasta in garlic and olive oil. Overall it was a fantastic Friday.

So why can’t I sleep?

My body must be getting ready for the ridiculousness that is Daylight Savings Time and it is showing its annoyance for my forthcoming stolen hour by trying to bank up on waking moments.

Or I’m still craving the Krispy Kreme donuts I employed willpower earlier yesterday (today?) by not eating them and my sleep sensory buttons are punishing me by keeping me awake.

Perhaps I’m not tired and I’ve had enough sleep already. However, if that were the case then my eyelids wouldn’t feel like if they were carrying ten pound kettle balls on each one.

Maybe I’m disappointed that nobody wants to play with me in the playground – still (my most recent popular post, prompting everyone to send me comments and questions about who was pissing me off). That would not keep me up because I got over that abut five minutes after it was written.

Should I have taken a dose of melatonin before bed? Warm milk? Should I be counting sheep?

There is absolutely no reason why I should not be able to embrace the slumber my wife is so fervently enjoying now, next to me, as she enters REM in her world of dreams.

But alas, sleep is not coming and the more reasons I write about, the more this brain stimulation is drawing me away from shut eye.

I’ve counted 543 sheep, two dogs and a cow named Cachita and I am wide awake. Furthermore, I am now wondering why the 543 sheep and the two dogs don’t have names and the cow does?

This is yet another reason why I cannot sleep and from what I can see the next set of sheep are nameless as well.

2 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. That said it all, I’ve counted 543 sheep, two dogs and a cow named Cachita and I am wide awake. Furthermore, I am now wondering why the 543 sheep and the two dogs don’t have names and the cow does?

Leave a Reply

