Day 274: The Language Of Goodbye

I wrote this in 1998 when Yvonne’s cousin remarried the father of her children. It was a story where fate had brought two people back together after an unnecessary separation.

We never used the ‘song’ because I ultimately thought it too negative for a happy event (although it had a beautiful melody). Years later, they are still together and I dusted it off this weekend while going through old computer files.

I like what it has to say about goodbye never being an option. I like that it is confrontational yet sentimental all at once. I wrote this at a very different time in my life and I am always curious to see how my outlook, my writing and ultimately my messages evolve through time.

G & H, here is a very late wedding present.

The Language Of Goodbye

Speak to me
Don’t shut me out
You see
I’ve nowhere else I’d rather be
Than close to you
So near
That I can feel you breathe
The air we share
So close I cannot bear
To be without you now

Talk to me
Let me inside
To see
The places where we once found love
A part of us
So dear
That I can feel our hearts
Full of passion shared
So strong I wouldn’t dare
To let this heart now beat alone

Let us not learn
The language of goodbye
Give us another try
To bend the rules
Of quiet times
Let us not learn
The language of goodbye
Peace must break out again
Connection be our friend
Our silence must not speak
The language of the end

Here I am
I bring to you
My truth
I didn’t know home without you
My place is here
You’re here
These trusted well known walls
They cannot tumble
Foundation must not crumble
The voice of love must stand

Time cannot erase the moments lived
Love has brought us here to understand
Let’s listen to its voice…

Let us not learn
The language of goodbye
Give us another try
To bend the rules
Of quiet times
Let us not learn
The language of goodbye
Peace must break out again
Connection be our friend
Our silence must not speak
The language of the end
Our silence must not speak
The language of goodbye

Leave a Reply

