Juan 50: Godchild

Trust
Of the grandest kind
Is placed upon this man
Whose judgment might be skewed
At times
There was no reason
Took up the cause just ‘cause
You were born to them
They relied on me
They gave me gifts
I’d never see

Love
Of the greatest range
Is asked of this one heart
Employed enough so generously
By life
For every season
Took up the cause just ‘cause
You were born to them
They depend on me
I’ve been given gifts
I couldn’t see

In everything I had
I only saw what wasn’t there
Blessed beyond compare
I simply saw what wasn’t fair
Denied what could be mine
I failed to find
The simple truth I knew
In lieu of only one to call my own
I’d been given you

Time
Is a blessed friend
To those who need to learn
Lessons crafted just for them
So true
You are my beacon
Honored the cause you caused
You were born for me
I depend on you
I’ve been given gifts
I’ve learned to see

What I’m meant to do for you
Don’t truly know
All I know is that I’m here
And now I know
I know…

In everything I had
I only saw what wasn’t there
Blessed beyond
Beyond compare
I simply saw what wasn’t fair
Denied what could be mine
I failed to find
The simple truth I knew
The simple truth I know
In lieu of only one to call my own
I’d been given you

SVHY6307

One thought on “Juan 50: Godchild

Leave a Reply

