Glutton

I took a four mile walk this morning. 

I went to so many places and yet I stayed put. 

I rehashed an argument I had with my wife two years ago and finally cleared the air with imaginary Yvonne who saw everything my way. 

I went to Florence. I went to New York. I went to Paris. 

Yes, I went to Spain – all of it. 

I felt my heart beat and the beads of sweat that ran down my temples and my back. I felt alive. 

I established a business unit at my job to help bring Cuba into the 21st century. I waved my American flag and sang God Bless America. 

I thought about having cocktails and dinner with friends tonight. What to drink? What to eat?

I thought about tomorrow morning and how many miles I’d walk then. 

I thought about my family, my cousins abroad and the ones who live near. 

I promised to judge less and understand the judgements of other more. 

I thought about a Philly Cheese Steak and Lasagna and Mashed Potatoes and Picadillo with platanos maduros. 

I attended a Gloria Estefan concert. 

I sang. 

I danced. 

I breathed. 

I’m tired. 

It’s only 7:00 in the morning and look how much I’ve done and how far I’ve gone. 

Today is limitless in its potential and yet all I can think about is…

What to eat? What to eat?

  

Leave a Reply

