We’ve Lost That Loving Feeling

Where are you?

I can’t find you anymore

I’ve searched high and low and everywhere in between

(Just like Barry)

Still you are nowhere to be found

Have we closed our minds and hearts to the thought of you?

Are we so desensitized that we can’t make room for you?

I find myself rolling my eyes more than I do outstretching my arms

It is so disheartening to know this

To know that I can switch off that which should be most great in us all

The constant reminders of negativity coming from the entertainment box

Coupled with the one liners, memes and quotes taken out of context

Along with videos of the most horrific events streamed across social media

This determines my reactions to slices of life from the realm of a sad reality

What have we become?

What do we portray?

How have we even taken the choosing of a leader and turned it into a Ringling worthy event?

When did we become the live stream circus for the world to bare witness to the folly of our ways?

We are the home of the free and the brave and yet we take liberty and courage to discriminate and bully…and maim

I’m not sure that our founding fathers wanted liberty and justice for all to mean liberty and justice ‘for some’

Why do we need marketing stances to tell us how to feel about humanity?

#ALLLIVESMATTER should not have to be a movement

It is a basic unhashtagged human principle

We’ve lost that loving feeling

(Just like The Righteous Brothers)

Where are you?

I can’t find you anymore

I’ve searched high and low and everywhere in between

Compassion…

Please come home

One thought on “We’ve Lost That Loving Feeling

Leave a Reply

