Fear 

Terror is becoming a habit too many are finding hard to break

The notion of crossing seas to embrace the old world is becoming less attractive

(Not that malevolence is solely reserved for international locales)

That is not the case but it is hard to embark on a journey when you are carrying fear in your valise of tricks

I love the skies and I love the lands they take me to,  but the flights of fancy should not lead to plights of grief

It is becoming a scary world (or it has been, but I just noticed)

Last night a baby I once knew walked into my house with car keys in hand, while another kid I know was being the cat’s meow on a theater stage

Young lives starting their journey in a world where the panorama of innocence is far gone from where it once stood

It is becoming a scary world (or it has been,  but I just noticed)

I dream of walks in Paris, gondola rides in Venice, bar hopping in Barcelona and theater visits on the West End – happy thoughts diminished by the withholding fear that lessens their worth

I am not afraid for me, but for those around me and for those whom I love

My world and its landscape  are colored by humans who augment my experience

I don’t need terror to bring these hues to black and white over an argument that has no reason or solution

The notion of crossing seas to embrace new worlds is becoming less attractive

It is a scary world (or it has been, but I just noticed)

Still, I have hope for the babies who one day will drive, for the kid who will one day Meow on stage and for the man who loves this beautiful world and wants to see as much of it as he can…

Fear is a habit I must break

Leave a Reply

