Answer A

The question on my civics test was simple. 

All I had to do was select A, B, C or D. 

I used my process of elimination. 

First I reviewed the given answer to A. 

It seemed like a trick answer. It was direct and clear but just didn’t look like a standard answer. I had never seen an answer like this before. It sounded right, wasn’t flashy and at times seemed too subdued. It appeared to convey all the salient points but somehow I remained unconvinced that it was the best solution, at least on initial glance. I found the answer to lack commitment while seeming fully committed. It was a dichotomy. 

I reviewed B. 

The answer to B sounded like a punchline. It was bombastic and unrealistic, some of the key facts sounding as if they had been pulled from a See Spot Run book. This did not seem like the right answer on any level. The answer contradicted itself between sentences two and four. This answer, on a very overt level, appeared to be offensive.  

I reviewed C. In all of my test taking courses, professionals told me that C was never the answer. C, while also appearing factual, was entirely too vague to be the correct choice and too low on the scale of response to merit contention. 

I then looked at D. There it was, the proverbial NONE OF THE ABOVE, the cop-out answer. I couldn’t select it. There had to be an answer to the question. It was too important. 

I could choose not to answer the question and leave it blank, but that was the equivalent of D. 

I looked at the top three choices again. I perused the entire exam and reviewed questions about immigration reform, human rights, the 2nd amendment, health insurance and my responsibility as a citizen. 

I returned to the question after completing all the other parts of the exam. I answered it. I filled in the box that felt most comfortable to me and that, in my opinion, answered the query posed. 

Answer A challenged me on many levels but mostly because it was truly different than anything I had seen on an exam before. 

Answer A, to me, was factual and real. It had evident flaws, but it had true merit supported by a legacy of known and proven facts. 

Answer A, to me, was the only choice amongst offensive, simple language, vague responses and NONE OF THE ABOVE. 

Answer A, to me, was not the lesser of all evils on the response scale. 

Answer A, to me, was the response. 

I answered A, but most importantly, I answered. 

Leave a Reply

